NARSC Student Competitions

student-compbigNARSC Graduate Student Paper Competition The North American Regional Science Council (NARSC) Graduate Student Paper Award contest is held annually in conjunction with the North American Meetings of the Regional Science Association International (RSAI). This contest encourages the participation of young scholars by providing a forum for paper presentation and discussion by senior scholars in the field of regional science. Beginning in 2010, two separate competitions have been held for graduate student papers:



1) Graduate-Student-Author Paper Competition: Eligibility for the award is limited to current Masters and PhD students, and/or recent graduates who completed their degrees after August 1, 2020. Co-authored papers are acceptable; however, all authors listed on a paper must meet the eligibility criteria above.

2) Graduate-Student-Led Paper Competition: Eligibility for the award requires that the paper’s “primary author” be a current Masters or PhD student, or a recent graduate who completed his/her degree after August 1, 2020
Papers with senior co-authors are acceptable; however, most of the substantive work and contribution of the paper must be directly attributable to an author who meets the eligibility criteria above

The 2021 contest will be held in conjunction with the annual North American Meetings of the Regional Science Association International, to be held in Denver, Colorado. 

Acceptance of the paper requires the following:

1. Individuals should submit a digital copy of their paper formatted using the Papers in Regional Science guidelines

2. A cover letter from their academic advisor confirming the author(s) meet the eligibility for the competition selected.

For the Graduate-Student-Author Paper Competition, the cover letter should state that the graduate students meet the eligibility criteria. In addition, the advisor should address that he/she will not be included in the authorship should the paper be published.

For the Graduate-Student-Led Paper Competition, the cover letter should state the approximate percentages of the substantive work (ideas, methods, and applications) and contribution that are directly attributable to the primary author (a student or recent graduate). In addition, the cover letter should state that the graduate students meet the eligibility criteria; and the advisor should agree to have the student(s) remain as the first author(s) should the paper be published.

3. The paper must be presented at the conference by one of the student authors. Abstracts are due on July 1, 2021. The relevant box should be ticked on the abstract submission page indicating the paper is submitted as part of the student paper competition.

4. The full paper and accompanying academic advisor’s cover letter are due on August 1, 2021. Both, full paper and advisor’s cover letter, should be submitted in electronic format to:

Graduate Student-authored Paper Competitions Chair: Christa Court, email 

Graduate Student-led Paper Competitions Chair: Carlianne Patrick, email 

5. For each of the competitions, up to five finalists will be selected from all of the submissions. Each finalist will present their papers in one of two special sessions at the annual North American Meetings of RSAI.  All finalists should attend the Awards Luncheon. This is held on the Saturday of the conference.

If you have any further questions about the NARSC Graduate Student Paper Award contests, please contact the proper individual listed above according to the type of paper being submitted.

Since the competition’s inception in 2006, first prize in the NARSC Graduate Student Paper Competition has been awarded to the following students:

  • 2006 Thomas Light (Cornell University) and Steven Poelhekke (European University Institute)
  • 2007 Amaya Vega (University College Dublin)
  • 2008 Stephen Billings (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
  • 2009 Felix Weinhardt (London School of Economics)
  • 2010 Beatrix Brügger and Raphaël Parchet (University of Lausanne)
  • 2011 Nathan Yang (University of Toronto)
  • 2012 Samuel Glendening Krueger (University of Southern California)
  • 2013 Michael Suher (Brown University)
  • 2014 Tate Twinam (University of Pittsburgh)
  • 2015 – Heitor Pellegrina (Brown University)
  • 2016 – Dhari Aljutaili (University of California Irvine)
  • 2017 – Robert Manduca (Harvard University)
  • 2018 – Luke Petach (Colorado State University)
  • 2019 – Tidiane Ly (GATE Lyone Saint-Etienee)
  • 2020 – Benjamin Blemings (West Virginia University)
  • 2021 – Pedro Herrera-Catalan (Autonomous University of Madrid) 

2014 Winner of the Graduate Student-Author Paper Competition, Tate Twinam

First Prize in the NARSC Student-Led Graduate Student Paper Competition has been awarded to the following participants:

  • 2010 Jean Dubé (Université du Québec) and co-author Diego Legrosy (Université de Bourgogne)
  • 2011 Sergeis Gubins and Erik T. Verhoef (Free University of Amsterdam)
  • 2012 Wendong Zhang and co-authors Douglas Wrenn and Elena G. Irwin (Ohio State University)
  • 2013 Wendong Zhang and co-author Cynthia Nickerson (Ohio State University)
  • 2014 Sungyup Chung and co-author Geoffrey Hewings (REAL, University of Illinois)
  • 2015 – Joep Steegmans and co-author Wolter Hassink (Utrecht University)
  • 2016 – Leonardo Bonilla and Esteban Lopez  and co-author Dan McMillen ( University of Illinois, Urban-Champaign)
  • 2017 – Nicola Cortinovis (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • 2018 – Paul Jung and co-author Jean Claude Thill (UNC Charlotte)
  • 2019 – Oudom Hean (The Ohio State University)
  • 2020 – Lucas Dias (University of San Paulo) and co-authors, Eduardo Haddad and Andres Maggi; Niels Kuiper (University of Groningen) and co-authors Mark van Duijn and Arno van der Vlist; Tianren Yang (University of Cambridge) and co-author Ying Jin
  • 2021 – Paul Jung (University of North Carolina – Charlotte). Co-authored with Jean-Claude Thill (University of North Carolina-Charlotte) and Luis Armando Galvis-Aponte (Banco de la Republica, Columbia)
2021 Winner of the Student-Led Graduate Student Paper Competition Paul Jung of University of North Carolina-Charlotte receives his award from the Christa Court.

<MMString:LoadString id="insertbar/registered" />